The Government of Canada

Canada is the only member of the G8 who’s government has not adopted a national suicide prevention strategy. Our government needs to make mental health and suicide awareness a priority at the federal, provincial and municipal levels in order to provide the resources needed to create an effective, relevant and life-saving initiative for all Canadians.


Bill C-300
Federal Framework for Suicide Prevention Act
(An Act respecting a Federal Framework for Suicide Prevention)

The bill was introduced by Harold Albrecht, Conservative MP for Kitchener—Conestoga (Ontario) as a private member’s bill. On February 12, 2012, the bill passed and is currently going through a second reading. The bill has been referred to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health.

On March 14, 2012, Liberal Health critic Dr. Hedy Fry introduced several amendments.

National Strategies


Provincial Strategies

British Columbia




New Brunswick

Nova Scotia


Local Strategies in Ontario




Niagara Region


County of Oxford

Waterloo Region

COAST - Crisis Outreach and Support Team
COAST is a mobile crisis team made up of Crisis Workers who can assist in a mental health-related crisis situation. If someone is in immediate crisis or emergency call 911 or if in crisis and needing support contact COAST.

Hamilton Region: 1-905-972-8338
Halton Region: 1-877-825-9011
Peel Region: 1-905-278-9036